March 2018 Election Candidate Information

Those formally filing as candidates for office and who will appear on the City of Rio Rancho’s regular municipal election ballot on March 6, 2018, include (ordering of candidate names below is how they will appear on the ballot as determined by a random drawing):

Mayor (four-year term, elected at-large)
  Greggory D. Hull
  Thomas E. Swisstack
  Christopher J. Muldrow

Municipal Judge (four-year term, elected at-large)
Ramon W. Montoya  
  G. Robert Cook

District 2 City Councilor (four-year term)
  Dawnn Robinson
Andrea L. Padilla

District 3 City Councilor (four-year term)
  Bob Tyler

District 5 City Councilor (four-year term)
Paul Joseph Howell  
   Jennifer Flor

If no candidate receives more than 50 percent of the total votes cast in the March 6, 2018 election, the candidates with the highest and second-highest vote totals from the election will be subject to a runoff election. The runoff election would be held between 35 days to 45 days after the canvass of the March 6, 2018 election is completed.  The specific runoff election date would be set by vote of the Rio Rancho Governing Body.

Also appearing on the March 6, 2018 ballot will be General Obligation Bond questions for roads and public safety. 

For any questions, please contact the City Clerk’s Office at (505) 891-5004.

Please click here to download the Candidate Handbook (PDF).